Clutter whore or room-filling genius?

We’re closing on a new house (yay!) in ten days. So I’ve started packing. Which was SUPER fun for the first day, and now I basically hate it.

And the worst part? I’ve only made progress on one room. ONE ROOM. The guest room. (AKA my room–I mean, obvi I sleep in our master bedroom with the hubs, and have a dresser and stuff in there as well, but otherwise? Yeah, this is my room). And believe me, I’ve been working my ass off on it.

Well… Mostly I have been, anyway.

You know. In between watching TV season finales (still having trouble getting over Grey’s Anatomy…) and making this new blog and stuff…

Ahem.

Moving on.

So this is the room I’ve been working on. (And I didn’t clean before taking the pictures… Shocker.)

Exhibit A:

My cat, Lilah, is resting on the futon after a particularly grueling battle with the leg warmer in the hall outside the bedroom door… 

Yeah, the bookshelves are empty of books, but the rest of it?

STILL LOOKS LIVED IN. 

So maybe you’d think I hadn’t really done much. But, um, no.

Exhibit B:

Yeah. See? I’ve packed a LOT. Like, in there are three huge wardrobe boxes. And boxes and boxes of books and cosmetics and trinkets and candles and shoes and… SO MANY OTHER THINGS.

And all of this? It was in our guest room. All. of. it.

I mean, I look at it now and wonder how the heck it was even possible. At least I understand why it was so hard to keep that room clean. Because HOW could you keep that many things neat and orderly in one not-even-very-big room?

Clearly it’s time for me to get rid of some stuff. Except… Um… I already got rid of some stuff while I was packing. And by some, I mean a lot. Everything that’s there? I still want.

Whoops.

~S

Leave a Reply

