First Annual Labor Day BBQ = Success!

Just relaxing now, after an awesome afternoon with friends and family. My back is aching and so are my feet, from standing and moving all afternoon, but it was all worth it!

We had 46 people (unless I’ve forgotten anyone in my mental tally here at the end of the day), a quarter of which were children. And I have to say… I think it was quite a smashing success! Everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves. There was a ton of food (catered by Dixie Bones and so yummy!) (and by “ton,” I mean we’ll be eating it for DAYS), and lots of beer (same goes, we’ll have beer to last us months, easily). The playground in our backyard was a HUGE hit with all the kiddos. And to think it was supposed to thunderstorm all day! Thankfully not a single drop of rain ever fell 🙂

I talked to everyone, but at the same time I didn’t really talk to anyone–yanno what I mean? I forgot what it’s like when you’re hosting something like this. I mean, not that I’ve ever hosted anything like this before. It’s a bit like getting married I guess (though I got so drunk at our wedding and did whatever I felt like, ha.)

I didn’t take a SINGLE picture. I’m kicking myself for it now. In fact, here’s a picture of my “kicking myself for not taking any photos” face:

And here’s one of Nelson enjoying a plate of some of the left over BBQ, while I’m writing this post:

such a handsome face

And one with Nelson smiling:

Sigh. As adorable as my husband is, I can’t believe I don’t have any other photos to record here!

NEXT YEAR I WILL TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES. And there will definitely be a next year! I loved hosting everyone. I’d honestly love to do a Christmas party, too, but one of my good friends has one every year and I wouldn’t want to step on her toes. Though maybe if we had different dates… Hmmm, we’ll see. One party is pretty expensive as it is. So maybe we’ll be the Labor Dayers…

No. I really want to host a Christmas party…

I can’t deciiiiiiide. Thank goodness there are months between now and then.

You know what? Since I might be preggers (though I’ve now convinced myself that I’m not) I didn’t drink anything alcoholic today. And I STILL had an awesome time!

Saradise, out.

Leave a Reply

