Dad’s Ham Salad

Wow. I have been siiiiiiick the past month. No energy. No ability to eat anything. Queasy 24/7.

I still lack the energy to do much, but I wanted to get this recipe down since I just made it and don’t want to forget it…

My dad’s ham salad. It. is. SO. good. And for the most part, it’s also SO easy.

Also I forgot to take photographs of the beginning few steps–and the ones I took at all were with my iPhone. Not the best quality, but whatever.

I had a baked ham from earlier in the week. (For some unfortunate reason, ham is the only thing that’s a SURE thing going to taste good to me these days.) I cut off the skin and any little patches of fat and then sliced it into chunks. (Inch by an inch, or so, and pretty flat, since the ham had already been cut into slices.)

I put all the little chunks into our 9-cup food processor, so eyeballing it, I’d say it was about a total of 7 cups of meat. And the rest is as follows! (Although this recipe is formatted for 4 cups of meat, so adjust accordingly)

Ingredients:

4C Baked ham, sliced into small pieces (fat and skin removed)
1/4C Chopped onion
1/4 C Sweet relish
2t Dijon Mustard
Mayo (eyeball it)

Directions:

1. Put the ham in a food processor and press pulse until it’s the desired consistency (see in the photo with the mustard & relish below)

2. Add the onion to the food processor until it’s blended into the ham. (Or you can just mince the onion really finely and mix it in later. I hate mincing onion, sooooo…)

3. Pour ham mixture out of the processor into a bowl to mix the rest of the ingredients with. Add sweet relish and dijon mustard. (There is more than 1/4 C of each here because I started off with almost double the amount of ham.)

Note the consistency of the ham! 

4. Add mayo. I’m actually not sure how much I ended up using. You can see the starting amount below, which LOOKS like it’d be more than enough–but I had to add quite a bit more to bring the consistency of the ham salad to where I wanted it. BUT start with a small amount and add to it. Because you can’t take it back if you use too much!

5. Enjoy!! It’s great on rolls (either by itself or dressed up with tomatoes, lettuce, etc), it’s great on crackers, honestly… it’s even great just by the spoonful.

Leave a Reply

