Week Fifteen

How far along? 15 weeks, 5 days

Total weight gain: Negative 4 ounces. I actually lost 4 pounds during the first trimester because I couldn’t eat anything! So I’m making my way back up. 
Maternity clothes? Yep! I love these leggings from Destination Maternity and wear a pair almost every day. (They come almost all the way up to my ribs–which is awesome.) I’ve also started rocking ruched maternity tees a lot. (Like these.) I have a couple pairs of maternity jeans, but my favorite pair has to be tailored. I keep meaning to take them in–and then getting too lazy. 
Stretch marks? No
Sleep: Not great. I wake up allllll the freaking time to pee. But I do have really vivid, really cool dreams. Frequently involving celebrities.  
Best moment this week: Cheating and going a few weeks back–to the ultrasound we had for the nuchal translucency test. (I actually only signed up for the test because I knew we’d get an ultrasound out of it! Otherwise I wasn’t worried–and the results, though they came back completely normal, wouldn’t have changed anything otherwise.) It was SO cool to see the baby! The first ultrasound, at around 6 weeks, we just saw a little sack with a flickering heartbeat–which was cool– but at week 12? Head, arms, legs, body–and still a strong heartbeat. It was pretty phenomenal. 

Look at those frog legs! I can’t believe how long they already are!
Also, about a week later, we shared with our friends on facebook (and my writing friends on twitter), which was a lot of fun. I’m happy to have it out in the open finally! 
We posted this pic with the caption: Nelson and I are excited to share that we have our own little super fan on the way, first appearance scheduled for May 2013!
Miss Anything? I miss the ability to have a beer or a glass of wine. And lunch meat. I would love to have a sandwich with regular lunch meat. I fixed the sushi craving by realizing I could still have veggie sushi! I ate about six tons of it in a two week period and now I’m okay for a while. 
Movement? Actually… Okay, it’s probably just in my head because it’s still a little early for this, but I’ve been waking up in the really early mornings. And while I lie there waiting to go back to sleep, in complete darkness, stillness, and silence, I feel these little, tiny flutters–sometimes they feel like small gas bubbles, but they don’t hurt and I don’t actually have gas. I think I’ve been feeling the baby!
Food cravings: Nothing really. Toasted English muffins with butter and strawberry jam are my standard go-tos. Or apples. But they aren’t necessarily from cravings. I just enjoy eating them right now.  
Gender prediction? Boy! 
Labor Signs: No
Symptoms: Headaches, nosebleeds (mostly just dried blood that comes out when I blow my nose), tiredness (though I have moments with a LOT more energy now that I’m in the second trimester). My boobs are still sore, but not nearly as bas as the first trimester.
Belly Button? In
Wedding rings? On
Mood? Surprisingly happy and calm! An occasional dark moment of uncalled for tension/anxiety/feeling like a jerk, but they pass pretty quickly and I haven’t let much of it out toward anyone else. (Go me.) 
Looking forward to: Finding out the gender!
Any other changes? I’m definitely showing now. More than I feel like I should be. But just in the belly. 🙂 
Leave a Reply

