Friends with Kids

Someone posted this on Facebook yesterday and I wanted to hang onto it. Not because I have friends yet who’ve felt neglected on account of me having a kid (I mean, baby girl’s still in my belly, sooooo that’d be weird) (and, if I’m being honest, I’m kind of a recluse for weeks and months at a time, so if my friends feel neglected, that’s why anyway) but because reading it was kind of a good lesson for me. It showed a bit of what I can expect. And you know what’s kind of cool about it?

A year ago, had I read this article about why people with kids don’t have time I would have felt exhausted just thinking about it. Because ugh. Who wants to never have time? Who wants to have to take 45 minutes to do things that should take 15? NOT ME.

But now? I nodded along while reading, thinking, Ah, okay, I can do this. I’m prepared–or at least, I’m getting prepared. It didn’t scare me even a little bit!

Okay, maybe just a little bit.

But not in a run for the hills and keep your legs closed forEVER sort of way like it would have a year ago. It only scared me because I’m nervous I won’t be equipped to be the awesome, on-top-of-it-all kind of mom I want to be. But isn’t that the start of being a good mom? Worrying that you won’t be good enough? (Well, I’m telling myself that is, anyway…)

Plus, I wanted to hang onto the article, too, for it’s actual purpose. In case someday there’s a friend who doesn’t quite understand what it means to be a mom 🙂 (Though my friends are so awesome, I seriously doubt that will ever happen.)

Leave a Reply

