Soooooo?

So What If

I effing Hate naps. Hate, with capital H. Which is sacrilege to the spirit of pre-preggo Sara, because, dude, from college on? Naps have been one of the highlights of any day I’ve been able to fit one in. But these days? When they’re actually necessary because I’m growing a person in me and I’m uncontrollably exhausted by 1:30 every day? They suck. I wake up disoriented and with a headache and completely groggy. And it takes at least an hour to snap out of it. Two to actually feel good. Sometimes longer. Ugh. As necessary as they are (and they are — my eyes close without my permission almost every day) they are not even refreshing in the slightest.

I am having a lot of Feels over the most recent episode of Hart of Dixie.

I took the glucose test on Monday morning. It wasn’t as bad as I feel like it’s often made out to be. No, the drink wasn’t awesome, but mostly it reminded me of a mix between orange soda and orange gatorade — just with a buttload more sugar. The part that sucked was the five minutes immediately after. I was super nauseous. My palms started sweating. And I just wanted to lie down. Actually, I wanted to lie down for the entire hour I had to wait before they drew my blood, so that sucked. Especially because the chairs in the lab were NOT COMFORTABLE. So if I fail and have to take it again, except next time it’s a 3-hour ordeal? I’m screwed.

Since I don’t know yet if I failed, though, I stopped on my way home and bought two pints of Baskin Robbins ice cream. Peanut Butter Chocolate and Pralines & Cream. (If you’ve never tried their Pralines & Cream, shut up right now and go get some. It’s my serious jam.) I will be eating the shit out of that ice cream until I’m told I have to give it up. God, I hope that doesn’t happen. Between the P&C and the  two  one and a half boxes of Thin Mints currently in my possession, I will seriously cry.

Jennifer Lawrence may go down in history as one of my favorite people ever. And I know it sounds like I’m jumping on the JLaw bandwagon, as she’s the new Hollywood It Girl, but no. I’ve loved that girl since her days of Winter’s Bone. (Another thing to shut up and go out to get if you haven’t seen it.)

We painted our nursery! (And, by we, I mean Nelsonic. I would have helped, but  I didn’t want to   I hate painting and N is so much better at it — he even freaking enjoys it once he gets into the rhythm   I’m pregnant and the fumes are no bueno in my condition.) And then? Our crib came! These two things suddenly made everything so much more real. Even without the bedding, which should arrive soon, I can’t stop staring. Like, it’s real now. Real real. (Okay, and granted, probably every little thing between now and when I’m pushing this little girl out of my body will suddenly make it real real, but still. Bear with me. I’m new to this shizz.)

Ugh. Update: I failed the stupid glucose test. Not by very much, but still. I have to go back for the three hour one. AND I have low iron, so I have to take supplements of that now, too. Which is no big. But the 3 hour glucose test is gonna suuuuuuuuck. FML. 

So What Wednesday is a blog meme started by Life After I “Dew.” (Click the link to see what other people are saying “so what??” to today.)

11 thoughts on “Soooooo?

  1. Stephanie

    I love Jennifer, always have BUT even more so after seeing her interview that Jack Nicholson crashed. Have you seen it? If not, Google their names. She is my kind of girl!

    Reply
  2. Liz

    Oh man I hope you pass the glucose screening! Fingers crossed. And the nursery color is awesome! Stopping by from the SWW link up. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Leah

    Love the color of the nursery! I didn't think the glucose test was as bad as people made it out to be either. I hope you passed. Happy WEdnesday.

    Reply
  4. Kelly

    I failed the 1 hour glucose test BOTH times I was pregnant, but passed all 4 blood draws (you have to pass like 3/4) of the 3 hour tests BOTH TIMES!
    It sucks, I feel ya!

    Reply
  5. Hilary @ Peanut Butter Spoonfuls

    I am so with you on naps!! I feel terrible for hours even after an hour long nap. People think I'm crazy but I avoid them unless they are involuntary like all pregnancy naps. Hope the 3 hour test is not as horrible as it sounds and you can finish the ice cream!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

