The Big 3-1

How far along? 31 weeks, 2 days

Total weight gain: 18 pounds (omg and 5 of them in the past two weeks, woops!) (Granted, I had two baby showers over the weekend, so that *might* have had something to do with it…) Time to pick it up a little at the gym. Gonna have to tell my trainer to start kicking my ass a little harder. (Which will be hard to do because she kills me already…)
Maternity clothes? Yep! And I am sooooooo ready for the weather to warm up so I can start rocking maxi dresses all the time.
Stretch marks? No
Sleep: Depends on the night. Last night I actually slept from 9pm to 8am! (With about 5 pee trips, of course) but that hasn’t happened in a really long time. Usually I’m waking up for the second or third time around 4 to pee and then up for a few hours after that. Sometimes I can fall back asleep, sometimes  (most times) not.   
Best moment this week: Both my and Liz’s showers! We had them back to back (hers on Saturday, mine on Sunday) at my house and they both were wonderful! Full post to come later, when I’ve collected some of the pictures other people took!
Miss anything? Still sandwiches. But mostly just because they’d be an easy thing to have for lunch every day and it’s getting harder to figure out what I want to eat.  I also miss the ability to turn over easily in bed. It’s an entire process these days nights — and it hurts. And along those lines, the ability to easily put shoes on. And socks. 
Movement? Kicks! They’re getting a little stronger. AND: it’s so fun — at night, on my back and in the dark, we’ll shine my iPhone light on my belly and after a few minutes, she’ll start kicking and hitting where the light is!! She also LOVES to dance around in there when I play Mumford and Sons or Adele. (Seriously, I’ve tried other artists, but nothing gets her moving like those two!) 
Food cravings: Nothing really stands out. I’ll have little cravings here and there, like last night I suddenly wanted swedish meatballs–but that craving passed within a few minutes.  
Gender prediction? Girl!
Labor Signs: Nothing really. Maybe some Braxton Hicks? Not even really sure about those. Also, her head is finally in a downward position, after spending most of the pregnancy breached. So I guess she’s starting to get ready, the smart little thing 🙂 
Symptoms: Not much energy. Heartburn. Pain on the sides of my ass when I lie too long on one side while falling asleep. I had one crazy painful muscle spasm in my upper left shoulder one night that stuck little daggers all the way up the side of my neck and down to my elbow. Nelson had to pound on my arm and shoulder for a long time to get it to stop. Thankfully, I already had physical therapy scheduled for the next day, so that helped. I also think I have some eczema on my upper stomach (SO dry and itchy) but I found that Aveeno has a freaking awesome lotion and body wash for it, and they’re helping a lot. Also my boobs. They’re out of control. I could probably knock myself out if I jumped too hard. You could wear my bra like a helmet. Nelson’s even tried it once (the jerk). I can’t even imagine what they’re going to look like when my milk comes in. I’m a little scared… 
Belly Button? In, but getting so small, ha! 
Wedding rings? On — though my engagement ring is a little tighter. I may just stick to my wedding band from here on out.
Mood? Pretty good, actually. Maybe it’s just that I get so tired easily, I don’t have energy for much more than laid back, ha. (Though I was FULL of energy all weekend, but that was more adrenaline-based because of the showers and getting to see so many people I love.) I am a little depressed, to be honest, about the sudden bout of weight gain. And about the ridiculous number on the scale. But I’m trying to get over it. 
Looking forward to: Excited for the glider to arrive. Should happen in the next couple of weeks, hopefully! And we still need to switch out the closet doors. Otherwise the nursery is really coming together!! I can’t wait to organize everything I received for the shower — and to do that one final shopping trip for everything we still need. (Ha, final? Who am I kidding?)
Any other changes? I failed the 1-hour glucose screening with a score of 150 so I had to take the 3-hour test (which was not the most fun thing in the world.) BUT I passed that one perfectly. So THANK GOODNESS I don’t have gestational diabetes. (Phew.) I’m still going to watch my sweet intake for the rest of pregnancy though. (After the rest of the baby shower cake is gone, of course…) And not that I’ll deprive myself, but maybe ice cream only on the weekends instead of a bowl each night. Also, I have started weekly physical therapy sessions to have the pains in the sides of my ass worked on… It’s really been helping. 
4 thoughts on “The Big 3-1

  1. Alli

    Wow, 31 weeks! Time sure does drag around this mark. My only tip is to make sure you rest up & pamper yourself, as lord knows you won't have time for that when the cute bubba arrives x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

